Modify

Opened 8 years ago

Closed 8 years ago

Last modified 4 years ago

#6904 closed defect (invalid)

sysupgrade: /etc/hosts overwritten during sysupgrade

Reported by: Stijn Tintel <stijn@…> Owned by: developers
Priority: high Milestone: Barrier Breaker 14.07
Component: base system Version: Kamikaze trunk
Keywords: Cc:

Description

It seems that whenever I sysupgrade my Ubnt RsPro, the /etc/hosts file is overwritten. This happens even when that file is added to /etc/config/luci:

config 'extern' 'flash_keep'                                     
        option 'uci' '/etc/config/'                              
        option 'dropbear' '/etc/dropbear/'                       
        option 'openvpn' '/etc/openvpn/'                         
        option 'passwd' '/etc/passwd'                            
        option 'opkg' '/etc/opkg.conf'                           
        option 'firewall' '/etc/firewall.user'                   
        option 'uploads' '/lib/uci/upload/'                      
        option 'quagga' '/etc/quagga/'                           
        option 'crontabs' '/etc/crontabs/'                       
        option 'hosts' '/etc/hosts'                              

After sysupgrade, I always have an /etc/hosts file containing only:

127.0.0.1 localhost.

Currently on trunk@20324, but the problem exists for quite some time.

Attachments (0)

Change History (2)

comment:1 Changed 8 years ago by cshore

  • Resolution set to invalid
  • Status changed from new to closed

/etc/hosts is a symlink. It is created from luci_hosts or /etc/hosts.local (which is copied to /tmp/etc/hosts, which is what /etc/hosts points to). This is done so that hosts can be modified dynamically without writing the flash.

comment:2 Changed 4 years ago by jow

  • Milestone changed from Attitude Adjustment 12.09 to Barrier Breaker 14.07

Milestone Attitude Adjustment 12.09 deleted

Add Comment

Modify Ticket

Action
as closed .
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'reopened'.
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.