Modify

Opened 10 years ago

Closed 10 years ago

Last modified 4 years ago

#2476 closed defect (fixed)

add "brctl stp br-lan on" in network config for wds mode

Reported by: automata Owned by: developers
Priority: highest Milestone: Kamikaze 8.09 RC1
Component: base system Version:
Keywords: wds Cc: hurry please!!

Description

When configuring routers for a WDS system "brctl stp br-lan on" should be automatically set.

This person http://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?id=12216 found an ugly hack to get WDS working properly only for this other person http://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?pid=56550#p56550 to mention him that the proper way is to use "brctl stp br-lan on". But he doesn't even mention it needs to be used on ALL routers creating the WDS set up.

"Important is to set "brctl stp br-lan on" to get rid of the "wds0.x: received packet with own address as source address"-messages."

In my experience when finished setting everything in wireless config on both routers wds DOES NOT work outta the box. Therefore this separate command "brctl stp br-lan on" should be specified to use in conjuction with WDS under /etc/config/network. WDS is dependent on "brctl stp br-lan on" so why not add it to its configuration?

Basically I think that WDS should work automatically and ALL it's configuration settings be specified in network and wireless files. NOTHING, absolutely NOTHING outside like "brctl stp br-lan on" command. STA and AP don't need any tweaking outside network and wireless files. Also this would enhance the experience of using OpenWrt.

Thank You very much and keep up the hard work!!!

:-)

Attachments (0)

Change History (3)

comment:1 Changed 10 years ago by florian

  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from new to closed

Fixed with [9176], thanks !

comment:2 Changed 10 years ago by florian

  • Resolution fixed deleted
  • Status changed from closed to reopened

Better fixed with [9343].

comment:3 Changed 10 years ago by florian

  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from reopened to closed

Add Comment

Modify Ticket

Action
as closed .
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'reopened'.
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.